About Us

Building Sustainable Future


International organization jointly founded by the BRICS Countries

Federative Republic of Brazil
Russian Federation
Republic of India
People’s Republic of China
Republic of South Africa

Bank’s Articles of Agreement specify that all members of the United Nations could be members of the bank, however the share of the BRICS nations can never be less than 55% of voting power.

Shareholding at the New Development Bank
Country Shares Subscribed (number) Exercisable votes (number)*
BRAZIL 100,000 91,669
RUSSIA 100,000 100,000
INDIA 100,000 100,000
CHINA 100,000 100,000
SOUTH AFRICA 100,000 100,000

* Exercisable votes reflect status of paid-in capital received as of June 15, 2021.