About Us


At the fourth BRICS Summit in New Delhi (2012), the leaders of Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa considered the possibility of setting up a new Development Bank to mobilize resources for infrastructure and sustainable development projects in BRICS and other emerging economies, as well as in developing countries. They directed Finance Ministers to examine the feasibility and viability of this initiative, to set up a joint working group for further study, and to report back by the next Summit in 2013.

Following the report from the Finance Ministers at the fifth BRICS summit in Durban (2013), the leaders agreed on the feasibility of establishing the New Development Bank and made the decision to do so. It was also agreed that the initial contribution to the Bank should be substantial and sufficient for it to be effective in financing infrastructure.

During the sixth BRICS Summit in Fortaleza (2014), the leaders signed the Agreement establishing the New Development Bank (NDB).

In the Fortaleza Declaration, the leaders stressed that the NDB will strengthen cooperation among BRICS and will supplement the efforts of multilateral and regional financial institutions for global development, thus contributing to collective commitments for achieving the goal of strong, sustainable and balanced growth.

“The Bank shall have an initial authorized capital of US$ 100 billion. The initial subscribed capital shall be US$ 50 billion, equally shared among founding members. The first chair of the Board of Governors shall be from Russia. The first chair of the Board of Directors shall be from Brazil. The first President of the Bank shall be from India. The headquarters of the Bank shall be located in Shanghai. The New Development Bank Africa Regional Center shall be established in South Africa concurrently with the headquarters.” (Fortaleza Declaration)

The inaugural meeting of the Board of Governors of the NDB was chaired by Russia and held on the eve of the Ufa Summit on 7 July 2015, when the Bank formally came into existence as a legal entity. During the meeting, the appointment of the President, Mr. K.V. Kamath, as well as four Vice Presidents and the Board of Directors took place.

At the signing of the Headquarters Agreement with the government of the People’s Republic of China and the Memorandum of Understanding with the Shanghai Municipal People’s Government on 27 February 2016, the NDB became fully operational.

In 2016-2017, the Board of Directors of the Bank approved loans involving financial assistance of over USD 3.4 bln for projects in the areas of green and renewable energy, transportation, water sanitation, irrigation and other areas.

The BRICS country leaders at the 6th Summit in Fortaleza, Brazil


Download Key Milestones

60% of Funding Will be for Renewables

"Our focus is on sustainable development and sustainable infrastructure," said President K V Kamath in an interview at the bank’s headquarters in Shanghai...More