

BOARD OF DIRECTORS 2021-BD33-DOC-005

MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE NEW DEVELOPMENT BANK (VIDEOCONFERENCE) HELD ON NOVEMBER 2, 2021 AT 19:00 (CHINA STANDARD TIME)

PRESENT:

Board Members

- i. Mr. Timur Maksimov (Director for Russia, Chairperson of the Meeting)
- ii. Mr. Pavel Snisorenko (Alternate Director for Russia)
- iii. Mr. Rajat Kumar Mishra (Director for India)
- iv. Ms. Manisha Sinha (Alternate Director for India)
- v. Mr. Zhijun Cheng (Director for China)
- vi. Mr. Bo Zhang (Alternate Director for China)
- vii. Ms. Vuyelwa Vumendlini (Alternate Director for South Africa)
- viii. Mr. Roberto Fendt Junior (Director for Brazil)
- ix. Mr. Marcos Troyjo (NDB President and Board Member)

Advisors and Other Participants Accompanying Board Members

- Mr. Marcos Machado Guimarães, Deputy Secretary for International Economic Affairs, Ministry of Economy, Brazil
- ii. Ms. Raquel Porto Ribeiro Mendes, Coordinator for Relationships with Global Development Institutions, Ministry of Economy, Brazil
- iii. Ms. Livia Braga, Infrastructure Analyst, Ministry of Economy, Brazil
- iv. Ms. Ekaterina Guseva, Head of Division, Department for International Financial Affairs,Ministry of Finance, Russia
- v. Ms. Elena Zamorina, Advisor, Department for International Financial Affairs, Ministry of Finance, Russia
- vi. Mr. Prasanna V. Salian, Deputy Secretary, Department of Economic Affairs, Ministry of Finance, India
- vii. Mr. Jiangnan Qian, Director, Division IFI IV, Department of International Economic and Financial Cooperation, Ministry of Finance, China
- viii. Ms. Hongna Li, Deputy Director, Division IFI IV, Department of International Economic and Financial Cooperation, Ministry of Finance, China

- ix. Mr. Lei Zhang, Deputy Director, Division IFI IV, Department of International Economic and Financial Cooperation, Ministry of Finance, China
- x. Mr. Yazhou Yan, Staff, Division IFI IV, Department of International Economic and Financial Cooperation, Ministry of Finance, China
- xi. Mr. Mfundo Hlatshwayo, Chief Director, BRICS, Global and Emerging Markets, International and Regional Economic Policy, National Treasury, South Africa
- xii. Mr. Marlon Geswint, Chief Director, Country and Thematic Analysis, National Treasury, South Africa
- xiii. Ms. Didintle Letsie, Senior Economist, BRICS, Global and Emerging Markets, International and Regional Economic Policy, National Treasury, South Africa
- xiv. Mr. Oratilwe Teisho, Assistant Director, BRICS, Global and Emerging Markets, International and Regional Economic Policy, National Treasury, South Africa
- xv. Ms. Tlangelani Mageza, Staff Member, BRICS, Global and Emerging Markets, International and Regional Economic Policy, National Treasury, South Africa

Vice-Presidents

- i. Mr. Vladimir Kazbekov, Vice-President and Chief Operating Officer ("COO")
- ii. Mr. Anil Kishora, Vice-President and Chief Risk Officer ("CRO")
- iii. Mr. Leslie Maasdorp, Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer ("CFO")

Secretary to the Board of Directors

i. Ms. Yolande Dwarika, Director General and Corporate Secretary

Other New Development Bank Staff

(Attachment I)

1. Adoption of the Agenda

The Board of Directors ("Board") considered and adopted the Draft Agenda of the Special Meeting of the Board of Directors (2021-SBD01-DOC-001-REV1).

2. Leave of Absence

The Alternate Director for South Africa attended the meeting. The Temporary Additional Alternate Director for the United Arab Emirates was absent from the meeting. The meeting had the requisite quorum.

3. Update from Brazil on Paid-in Capital in Arrears and on the 7th Installment of the Paid-in Capital

The Board considered the Note on Update from Brazil on Paid-in Capital in Arrears and on the 7th Installment of the Paid-in Capital (2021-SBD01-DOC-004) and took note thereof.

4. Implications of Possible Further Delays in Payment of Capital Installments

The Board considered the Note on Paid-in Capital Arrears and Risk Mitigation Measures (2021-SBD01-DOC-003) and provided guidance for the next steps.

5. Strategies for Risk Mitigation

The Board provided guidance on formulating strategies for risk mitigation.

6. Any Other Matters

The meeting ended with thanks from the Chairperson of the meeting.

Attachment I

The following staff members attended the meeting for relevant agenda items with the approval of the Chairperson:

Corporate Secretary Department

- i. Mr. Weijie Liu, Principal Professional
- ii. Ms. Miya Liu, Young Professional
- iii. Mr. Alexander Efimov, Young Professional
- iv. Ms. Helen Shen, Officer

Office of the President

- i. Mr. Artur Lacerda, Director General
- ii. Mr. Couto Silva, Principal Professional
- iii. Mr. Sidharth Kamani, Senior Professional
- iv. Mr. James Elias, Executive Assistant to the President

Executive Assistants to Vice-Presidents

- i. Mr. Evgeny Kochkin, Executive Assistant to the COO
- ii. Mr. Saurabh Ghugre, Executive Assistant to the CFO

Other Departments

- i. Mr. Sergei Kuznetsov, Director General and Legal Counsel
- ii. Ms. Halima Nazeer, Director General, Finance, Budget and Accounting
- iii. Mr. Jose Luiz Fernandes, Director General, Risk Management
- iv. Mr. Fabio Batista, Chief, Strategy, Policies and Partnership
- v. Mr. Marcelo Cardoso, Principal Professional, Legal
- vi. Mr. Abhimanyu Ghosh, Principal Professional, Legal
- vii. Mr. Paul Hoffman, Senior Professional, Treasury and Portfolio Management